top of page

2022 CAIFF

November 10th - 17th


The California Independent Film Festival Association(CAIFFA) is part of an amazing worldwide community; a unique collaboration of multi-talented filmmakers. It celebrates diversity, human rights, and freedom of expression through an array of dramatic and comedic feature films, shorts and moving documentaries.

CAIFFA entertains, informs, inspires, encourages and educates individuals and filmmakers from around the world. We believe a film festival can contribute to a healthier society and should encourage the active involvement of audiences to connect and act collectively to address social challenges.


Iron Filmmaker

2022 Films

Photo Gallery


"A venue for the true Independent Filmmaker"


The California Independent Film Festival (CAIFF) is one of the most successful and fastest growing film festivals in California. Since its inception in 1997, CAIFF has captured both national and worldwide press. This star-studded event provides both local Bay Area residents and visitors with an opportunity to see world-class films, meet filmmakers from around the world, international celebrities and build exposure for CAIFF corporate sponsors. We invite you to become part of the fastest growing film festival in California.


Background Overview Started in 1997, CAIFF is a premier showcase for independent, foreign and mainstream films.


CAIFF attracts a world-class audience! Filmmakers from around the world

Entertainment industry executives

Hollywood Celebrities

Film Enthusiasts

World Wide Press


CAIFF offers a one of kind event in the San Francisco East Bay! World Premieres, Celebrity VIP Receptions, Fabulous Parties

Monthly Film Series.  Screenings are held at the historic Orinda Theatre and the Castro Theatre

Celebrity Tributes Past Honorees include Oscar Winner Richard Dreyfuss, Oscar Winner Martin Landau, Oscar Winner Cloris Leachman, Tony Curtis, Oscar Winner Rita Moreno, Diane Ladd, Penny Marshall, Ed Asner, Taylor Lautner, Daryl Sabara, Loni Anderson, Wayne Knight, Tippi Hedren, Nancy Cartwright, Tom Kenny, Mark Rydell, Rosanne Barr, John Daly, Bob Clark and Oscar Winner Barry Morrow


Board of Directors 
Derek Zemrak (Founder and President) ; Joanne Foy (Vice President) ; Leonard Pirkle (Executive Director) ;

Steve Hitchcock (Treasurer) ; Robert Hill (Secretary); Lance Mack (Member at Large)

Efi Lubliner, Director of Programming 

Jo Alice Canterbuty, Selection Committee

Lucyna Boyle, Selection Commitee


Our office is located inside the Historic Orinda Theater, feel free to get in touch!

Get in Touch

4 Orinda Theatre Square 

Orinda, CA 94563

Tel: (925) 254-9060

Success! Message received.



© 2022 Projection Booth 

The Olsen Team.png
Broken Ukulele_edited.jpg
bottom of page